Western Division CAG AGM, Medicine Hat College, Medicine Hat, AB March 21, 2004 - MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by Moffat Agenda and minutes of last meeting were <u>approved</u> and we moved onto the present agenda.

ISSUES:

- 1. ISSUE RE: BC Environmental Scientist Certification It was deemed that no action was necessary at this time.
- 2. ISSUE RE: Travel Grants
 Members discussed the possiblity of requesting grants from the CAG to aid student travel to our AGM subsequently was discussed at the CAG Moncton, NB
- 3. ISSUE RE: Renaming Award for Outstanding Service to the Division for J.L. Robinson (UBC Emeritus)
 An idea whos' time had come.

REPORTS:

- 1,. SECRETARY/TREASURER (Craig Coburn UofL)
- 2. PUBLICATIONS (Jim Windsor CNC.)
- 3. NEWSLETTER EDITOR (Ineke Dijks Surrey. BC)
- 4. EDUCATION COMMITTEE (BC Courtney ??) None provided
- 5. ARCHIVIST (Faverholdt (TRU and UNBC)
- PRESIDENT'S REPORT(Moffat MHC) -

OTHER:

8. Next year's meeting -- held during Alberta's centennial – will be hosted by the University of Lethbridge, although the location is not yet known. Potential sites include the Crowsnest Pass, Waterton Lake or Kannanaskis Country.

9. Elections yielded the following results:

President: Ben Moffat (Medicine Hat College) - one year remaining

Vice-president: Neil Hanlon (University of Northern British Columbia) - one year remaining

Secretary-Treasurer: Craig Coburn (University of Lethbridge)

Members-at-Large: Cliff Raphael (College of New Caledonia) - one year remaining

Debra Straussfogel (University of Northern British Columbia) – one year remaining

Gilles Viaud (University College of the Cariboo) – two years remaining Glen Hvenegaard (Augustana University) – two years remaining

Student Member (B.C.): Rachel Clasby (University of Northern British Columbia) - one year remaining

Student Member (AB): Shawn Mueller (University of Calgary) - one year remaining

B.C. Education Committee Chair: Lyle Courtney (Douglas College)

Publications Editor: Jim Windsor (College of New Caledonia)

Newsletter Editor: Ineke Dijks (Port Coquitlam, B.C.)

10. Awards

Certificates of service were given to Dr. John Hodgson, University of Alberta and Dr. Greg Halseth, University of Northern British Columbia.

"Mugs of Merit" were awarded to Clifford Raphael of The College of New Caledonia, Ineke Dijks, Port Coquitlam, B.C.(and the University of Groningen, The Netherlands) and Dr. Tom Johnston, University of Lethbridge.

Students who were awarded CAG memberships for the quality of their conference presentations include:

Shawn Mueller (University of Calgary) – PhD Aaron Kingsbury (Simon Fraser University) - Master's Clive Lovett (University College of the Cariboo) - Undergraduate

11. Other

Of note were messages of thanks to Dr. Len Evenden for his continued support, a getwell message to our Past President, Rod Fowler and special "thank yous" to out-ofdivision visitors from the east: University of Regina and Brandon University both sent contingents, among them our banquet's speaker Dr. John Everitt who later, at the banquet, entertained us all with "A tasty tale of pies and cheese. Place and place-name imagery from the rural heart of England".